top of page
Search

2| The Hermit IX

Updated: Mar 14, 2019

Last time I talked about my thesis project, I landed on the topic of overbearing passivity. Not much has changed with this choice since being passive and the lack of action remain to be concerning aspects of personal progress and society's progress as a whole. I've seen inaction play detrimental roles in my life as well as others'. It halts development and can even cause backtracking in projects or other personal endeavors. For most, it's unfortunately easy to do nothing when something can be done. How does passivity reject productive change? Can excessive inaction alter future opportunities? Do job openings and higher education grow out of reach? Is there a significant gap in competition for people with passive tendencies?


The format and construction of my project are what have been altered significantly. Now, the design is more more clear and features less over-done symbolism (trees are so last season).


Instead of a human figure, I went for a hermit crab shell with over-sized legs. It's not that I was opposed to using human figure, I simply found that the symbolism for a hermit crab is a better fit for my concept. These animals' livelihoods are based on change and taking action to find a better shelter such that their growth isn't inhibited. (Fun fact: this animal can also symbolize me since my western zodiac sign is Cancer)


The easiest part to the sculptural piece is the process for making the legs, since it's my least experimental method. I plan on constructing the six main legs of the hermit crab out of copper, either 18g or 20g sheets. Each leg will be 24 inches in length, 1 1/2 to 2 inches wide and formed out of three 8 inch segments (18 segments in total). All of the segments will be pierced and connected through wire, so that there is a decent amount of movement allowed for positioning in the shell and on display. Before connections, the copper is going to be torched to remove shine and add a weathered, sun-scorched texture.


In contrast, the shell will be the more challenging part of the project. I chose a West Indian false cerith shell as the main design of the form since it gives a conical structure while still retaining a relatively round silhouette. A wire form will be constructed for the base. The diameter of the opening will not be larger than 14 inches. Once the wire form is finished, a material like plaster, paper mâché, or paper clay is going to be used to fill out the conical form. I still need to experiment with different mediums so there will be no structural errors in the final product. Whichever medium is used, once dry (if applicable) will be textured with modeling paste and toned with acrylic paint so the weathered effect is communicated throughout the piece.


As for installation, it's going to be a simple floor placement unless I have the time to construct a low-to-the-ground pedestal. The intention is to imply little movement.


Since I'm still unsure about the medium, what sculptural mediums have you worked with that might be able to be used for this piece?

I plan on putting natural elements like seaweed and barnacles on the shell, but would more symbolic (and strategically placed) things work on the shell/embedded in the shell?






33 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page